Skip to content
Vale of Glamorgan Counts — Vale of Glamorgan, in numbers.Local help →

Vale of Glamorgan, in numbers

People and living standards

Vale of Glamorgan council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Vale of Glamorgan council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 118,053 in 1991 to 135,362 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Vale of Glamorgan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 116,327 people in 1996; 135,362 people in 2025. 16.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Vale of Glamorgan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991118,053
1992117,605
1993117,050
1994116,850
1995116,347
1996116,327
1997116,950
1998118,297
1999117,944
2000119,276
2001119,277
2002120,279
2003120,980
2004122,101
2005122,877
2006123,642
2007124,732
2008125,713
2009126,162
2010126,435
2011126,679
2012126,703
2013126,458
2014126,714
2015126,261
2016127,082
2017128,377
2018129,165
2019129,802
2020131,224
2021132,491
2022133,553
2023134,607
2024135,311
2025135,362
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Vale of Glamorgan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,328 people in 1996; 23,997 people in 2025. 5.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Vale of Glamorgan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,401
199225,367
199325,371
199425,491
199525,324
199625,328
199725,430
199825,722
199925,631
200025,700
200125,562
200225,460
200325,259
200425,087
200524,822
200624,577
200724,437
200824,381
200924,141
201024,000
201123,776
201223,760
201323,687
201423,603
201523,537
201623,685
201724,008
201824,206
201924,248
202024,356
202124,452
202224,806
202324,763
202424,459
202523,997
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Vale of Glamorgan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,542 people in 1996; 79,986 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Vale of Glamorgan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199173,776
199273,165
199372,521
199472,094
199571,694
199671,542
199771,937
199872,832
199972,564
200073,594
200173,669
200274,583
200375,320
200476,350
200577,060
200677,875
200778,744
200879,329
200979,620
201079,629
201179,677
201278,769
201377,826
201477,568
201576,749
201676,912
201777,333
201877,362
201977,415
202078,125
202178,823
202278,998
202379,634
202479,920
202579,986
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Vale of Glamorgan council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,457 people in 1996; 31,379 people in 2025. 61.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Vale of Glamorgan council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,876
199219,073
199319,158
199419,265
199519,329
199619,457
199719,583
199819,743
199919,749
200019,982
200120,046
200220,236
200320,401
200420,664
200520,995
200621,190
200721,551
200822,003
200922,401
201022,806
201123,226
201224,174
201324,945
201425,543
201525,975
201626,485
201727,036
201827,597
201928,139
202028,743
202129,216
202229,749
202330,210
202430,932
202531,379
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 131,939 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Vale of Glamorgan · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,8072.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6240.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,9872.3%
White124,80094.6%
Other ethnic group7210.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 126,336 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Vale of Glamorgan · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White121,83896.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6951.3%
Asian/Asian British1,9671.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4890.4%
Other ethnic group3470.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 119,292 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Vale of Glamorgan · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White116,71697.8%
Mixed1,1330.9%
Asian/Asian British7040.6%
Black/Black British2730.2%
Chinese/Other4660.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Vale of Glamorgan council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,655 per person in 1997; £26,733 per person in 2024. 150.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Vale of Glamorgan council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,655
199810,796
199911,345
200011,866
200112,109
200212,515
200312,942
200413,414
200513,732
200614,422
200714,864
200815,588
200915,738
201016,045
201116,313
201216,585
201317,050
201417,548
201518,423
201618,413
201719,182
201820,437
201921,407
202021,390
202121,776
202222,769
202324,948
202426,733
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Vale of Glamorgan council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 0.4% in 1997; 3% in 2024. 2.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Vale of Glamorgan council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19970.4
1998-0.3
19990.3
2000-0.3
2001-2.1
2002-1.1
2003-0.7
2004-1.2
2005-2.3
2006-1.5
2007-3.1
2008-1
2009-1.7
2010-0.7
20110.1
2012-1.8
2013-2.7
2014-3
2015-3.2
2016-4.4
2017-2.6
20180.1
20191.6
20201.9
2021-0.3
2022-0.8
20232
20243
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.8%

21 March 2021 · Vale of Glamorgan council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.7%

21 March 2021 · Vale of Glamorgan council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Vale of Glamorgan council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Vale of Glamorgan council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£303,000

July 2026 · Vale of Glamorgan council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£982

August 2026 · Vale of Glamorgan council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.